Student groups making a difference

Mon, May 12, 2014


SOSA cropped

Members learn how to scrub in for surgery during SOSA workshop

TCOM’s Student Osteopathic Surgical Association (SOSA) hosted the National SOSA Convention 2014 on campus earning rave reviews, while Martha Ayewah, (TCOM ’15) was elected national SOSA president.

The 150 attendees from 16 osteopathic medical schools were impressed by the number of sub-specialties represented in the sessions and the hands-on workshops, which included: suturing, OMT, intubation, casting and more. And TCOM students won the highly competitive Suture Bowl!

TCOM students George Liras, Valerie Willis, Alixe Christie, Neal Olarte, Chris Wilson, James Ebot, Janie Pierce and Jenny Brekke, working with Chapter Adviser Albert Yurvati, DO,and with administrative assistances from DeeAnn McKinney in the Department of Survery led, the event to success.

Also, outstanding community service has catapulted two of TCOM’s student organizations to national Chapter of the Year honors:

-          Student American Osteopathic Academy of Sports Medicine

-          Student American Academy of Osteopathy

The sports medicine group volunteered nearly 5,000 hours of medical care, physical exams and other services at community events ranging from Golden Gloves boxing tournaments to the Cowtown races to Fort Worth Special Olympics.

The osteopathy group community service this year has included free hands-on demonstrations of osteopathic manipulation at events such as the Cowtown races, African-American Health Expo and Vestido Rojo.

suture challenge cropped

SOSA members compete in the “Suture Bowl” …

SOSA trophy cropped

… won by TCOM’s team!


Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Latest Flickr photos