White Coat Ceremony will honor pharmacy pioneers

Tue, Aug 13, 2013


Pharmacy lab CONNECTIONThe first students in the UNT System College of Pharmacy will receive their white coats in a ceremony beginning at 10 a.m. Aug. 17 in the MET auditorium. The traditional white coat symbolizes responsibility and compassion. (Pictured are some of the first students in the UNT System College of Pharmacy.)

Thomas Menighan, BSPharm, MBA, ScD (Hon), Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Pharmacists Association, will deliver the keynote address.

Also during the ceremony, some of North Texas’ pioneering pharmacists will be named honorary members of this inaugural class:

  • Keith Dunavant, graduate of the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. He was a co-owner of Town and Country Drugs in Fort Worth for more than 20 years before selling the company to Eckerd’s Drugs. He then founded United Provider Services, one of the first pharmacy benefits companies in north Texas. This company is now a part of CVS/Caremark, the largest pharmacy benefits company in the U.S.
  • Sanders Alexander Marshall Jr., graduate of Texas Southern University College of Pharmacy. As a pharmacist for Ward’s Cut-rate Drugs in the early 1960s, he broke the color barrier in Fort Worth as one of the first African-American pharmacists to work alongside white pharmacists and dispense prescriptions to white customers. His career spanned 35 years.
  • Paul Weinstein Jr., graduate of the University of Oklahoma School of Pharmacy. He owned and operated a retail and long-term care pharmacy in Fort Worth, servicing more than 1,000 facility beds for many years. He also is a past president of the Tarrant County Pharmacy Association and a trustee of the Texas Pharmacy Foundation, and he is still practicing pharmacy.
  • The late Paul Perrone (to be honored posthumously), a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy. The award will be accepted by daughter Paula Perrone, CEO of Perrone Rx, LLC. In 1953, Paul Perrone and Horace Park purchased a pharmacy in Fort Worth, which in 1975 became Perrone Pharmacy.  Paul Perrone continued to lead the pharmacy operation every day, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the store in 2002. Paul Perrone passed away in 2004, but his legacy lives on. Perrone Pharmacy is now one of the largest independent retail pharmacies in the state of Texas.
  • The endowed Paul Perrone Pharmacy Scholarship will continue the legacy of excellence in pharmacy.
  • Also to be recognized during the ceremony:
    • The presence of the oldest continuing pharmacy in Texas, the T.B. Bond Pharmacy in Hillsboro, dating to 1881.
    • The invention of the iconic soft drink, Dr Pepper, by Waco pharmacist Charles Alderson in 1885. The Dr Pepper Company later moved to Dallas.
    • The presence of a Fort Worth School of Pharmacy in 1911.
    • The founding in Fort Worth of the largest and most profitable ophthalmic company in the world by pharmacists Robert Alexander and William Conner in 1945.  The name Alcon was derived from their names.

    The ceremony will be live streamed on big screens in MET 109-111 and in Everett 108, and also online at http://www.livestream.com/unthsc

    College of Pharmacy classes begin Monday, Aug. 19.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Latest Flickr photos