Kudos for outstanding work

Fri, Jun 14, 2013

Around Campus, Uncategorized

thumbs_upUNTHSC faculty, staff and students regularly earn recognition as they create solutions for a healthier community. Some of the latest:

Chandra Bathina, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences student, was awarded the Central Nervous System Section of the American Physiologcial Society’s Van Harreveld Memorial Award, recognizing outstanding research in neuroscience by a graduate student participating in the Experimental Biology Meeting. His mentor was Steve Mifflin, PhD, Professor and Chair, Integrative Physiology.

Katie Cardarelli, PhD, MPH, Associate Professor, Epidemiology, received the 2013 Discover Award by the Girls Scouts of Texas Oklahoma Plains at the organization’s recent Women of Distinction Luncheon honoring leaders who discover, connect and Take Action. She was recognized for her community-based work in health prevention, targeting underserved communities to reduce health disparities, chronic disease and infant mortality in North Texas.

Patrick Clay, PharmD, Professor, Pharmacotherapy, has been appointed to the National Institutes of Health Scientific Review Program panel that will make funding recommendations (up to $70 million) to the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for 2014. Clay is the panel’s only pharmacist.

Darrin D’Agostino, DO, MPH, Chair and Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, was named “New Chairperson of the Year” at the Cowtown races Appreciation Dinner. He served as Medical Director of the 2013 Cowtown.

Troy Dawley (TCOM ‘14) won the Best Oral Presentation award during the 54th Annual National Student Research Forum at the UT Medical Branch-Galveston. His paper was “A retrospective Chart Review of Mini-Open Posterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion with Cost Analysis and Comparison to Minimally Invasive and traditional Open Approaches.”

Elizabeth Trevino Dawson, DrPH, MPH, Assistant Professor of Health Management and Policy, has been accepted in the 2013-2014 Disparities Leadership Program of the Massachusetts General Hospital Disparities Solutions Center, Boston, whose goal is to develop a national network of professionals dedicated to eliminating racial/ethnic disparities in health care.

Anthony J. Di Pasqua, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences, is among approximately 100 researchers awarded attendance at the 11th Annual National Academy of Sciences KeckFutures Initiative (NAKFI) conference, “The Future of Advanced Nuclear Technologies: Building a Healthier and Safer Planet,” to be held in November. Nearly $1 million in competitive seed grant monies will be available to attendees.

Kendi Hensel, DO, PhD, Associate Professor, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine has been made an honorary member of the American College of Osteopathic Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Honorary membership has been given only four previous times, and she is the first DO to earn the honor.

Julie Herrmann, Civic Council Coordinator, Community Relations, received the Outstanding Service Award from the Texas Public Health Association (TPHA) for leadership of the new Student Section. She also serves on the TPHA Governing Council, the Annual Conference Program Planning Committee and as the American Public Health Association Student Assembly (APHA-SA) Affiliate Liaison representing TPHA.

Richard Kurz, PhD, Dean, School of Public Health, was named a Fellow of Texas Public Health Association and received the organization’s President’s Award at the TPHA 2013 Professional Educational Conference in San Antonio. He was recognized for helping Texas’ local public health departments prepare for national accreditation and for his achievements toward reducing infant mortality across the state.

John Licciardone, DO, MS, MBA, is the recipient of the 2013 George W. Northup, DO, Medical Writing Award. This is the Journal of the American Osteopathic Association’s highest award and was given for three articles published in 2012 in the JAOA.

Robert Mallet, PhD, Professor, Integrative Physiology, has been named a 2013 Distinguished Scientist by the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine.

James Renfro, Assistant Director, Career Services in Student Affairs, is President Elect of the Metroplex Area Consortium of Career Centers (MAC3), and will serve a three-year term on the organization’s board. 

Student Quality Leadership Academy — four Master of Health Administration (MHA) students –Andrea Bennett, Garrett Boland, Karyssa Bowers and Bhaavika Patel – were selected from among more than 340 applicants to participate in the Fourth Annual Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Open School Student Quality Leadership Academy, sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Cambridge, Mass.

Albert Yurvati, DO (TCOM ‘86), Chair and Professor, Surgery, has been re-elected chair of the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery (AOBS), which is charged with the certification and recertification of all osteopathic physicians in general surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, vascular surgery, neurological surgery, urological surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery and surgical critical care.

Also, Yurvati is to receive the Orel F. Martin Award, the highest honor awarded by the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons.

News from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP):

William Griffin (TCOM ’15) has been elected president of the National Student Association.

Janet Lieto, DO, CMD, Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, has been named an ACOFP Fellow.

Sana F. Muntajibuddin, DO, Family Medicine resident, received the First Place Award for her original research, CDC Physical Activity Guidelines in Relation to Obesity and Health Attitudes in Underserved Youth, at the Annual Convention and Scientific Seminar. Susan Franks, PhD, Associate Professor, Family Medicine, served as her mentor.

Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine’s student chapter was presented the Communications Award at ACOFP at the Annual Convention and Scientific Seminar. TCOM’s chapter was among only four osteopathic school chapters recognized with an award.



Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Latest Flickr photos