Williams presents faculty awards for excellence

Mon, Apr 29, 2013

Education, Patient Care, Research

Faculty award Trophy_Sample_x350Interim President Michael Williams presented awards on April 22 to 28 faculty members in recognition of their contributions to our education, research and clinical care efforts. Click here to see the list of awardees.

Honorees were selected from among the UNT Health Science Center’s more than 400 faculty by a committee of faculty, staff and administrators based on data such as student satisfaction scores, patient satisfaction scores, research funding from external sources, publications and faculty evaluations.

Awards were given in three categories, including a gold and silver winner in each category.

President’s Award for Educational Excellence – Based on student satisfaction scores and evaluation results. Recipients also must have had at least 30 classroom contact hours and received at least 10 student evaluations during the fiscal year.

President’s Award for Research Excellence – Based on competitive extramural funding, evaluation results and having had at least two peer-reviewed publications in print or in press.

President’s Award for Clinical Excellence – Based on patient satisfaction scores and evaluation results. Physicians must have cared for patients at least two full days per week throughout the year as part of UNT Health.

 Before presenting the awards in the Met auditorium, Williams said, “Whenever I think about the power of great faculty, I think about a wonderful quote from Henry Brook Adams, a noted journalist and author in the 19th century: ‘A teacher affects eternity; you can never tell where their influence stops.’

“The president’s faculty awards were created to recognize just that–the highest accomplishments of our faculty in each of our three mission areas:  education, research and clinical care.


Comments are closed.

Untitled Document
Untitled Document
Latest Flickr photos